This feature is only available in the Plus subscription plan. You can upgrade your plan from the Settings dialog in the admin side menu
ACF automatically keeps track of your changes to custom fields - including images - allowing you to restore to any version recorded within the last 90 days and quickly recover from accidental deletes or misconfiguration.
It’s important to note that this feature is not a backup tool allowing for bulk restores in case of emergencies but is intended for manually restoring the state of custom fields for a specific object (like a product or a page) to an earlier recorded version.
For data privacy reasons, custom fields for customers and orders are never versioned. This is planned for a future release
Version history overview
When you visit the ACF editor, you’ll see a button named "Version history" near the top of the right-hand column. Click this button to show the current object's timeline with respect to changes made either via the editor’s Save operations or via imports
When editing products with variants, please note that every variant has its own version history. When you select a variant tab, the Versions button will show the version timeline for that specific variant
The editor may in some cases autosave partial changes - this happens for example when images are uploaded or edited or when image fields within repeatable sections change position - and you may also of course yourself be saving changes manually several times during an edit session.
This means that the version history can become a bit noisy. You can hide the noise from such frequent save operations by holding down the Shift button when clicking on the Version history button to group the version entries by the hour, showing only the most recent version per hour, like this:
Hold down the Shift button when clicking on the Version history button to see the version entries grouped by the hour
How to restore an earlier version
When you click on an earlier version from the dropdown list, ACF will show you the selected version in a modal view, allowing you to preview the contents from this version before optionally restoring it. While the field layout resembles the editor layout, the data in this modal cannot be changed.
To restore the version's data shown in the modal, click the "Restore this version" button and confirm the restore. Once restored, the most current version will itself be recorded and you can in turn restore this as well, effectively undoing your first restore.
If you are editing a specific section of custom fields and from that view restore to an earlier version of the object, only the selected section's fields will be restored. In other words, what you see in the restore modal is what gets restored
Layouts are not included in the version history. After restoring an object to an earlier version, check the layout for consistency